Stanford University
Postdoctoral Scholars


The Provost’s Advisory Committee on Postdoctoral Affairs considers and recommends university policy with regard to the welfare, status, compensation, benefits, and terms of appointment of Postdoctoral Scholars at Stanford University, including the Medical School and SLAC.  The Committee provides oversight for the monitoring of career progress, career development, and conflict resolution.  The committee meets four times during the academic year and is comprised of faculty members, senior administrators and the Stanford University Postdoctoral Association co-chairs.  The committee reports to the Vice Provost for Graduate Education.

Provost’s Advisory Committee on Postdoctoral Affairs Membership:

Martha Cyert, Chair

Professor, Biology

Sofie Kleppner (ex officio)

Associate Dean for Postdoctoral Affairs

William Talbot (ex officio)

School of Medicine Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Postdoctoral Affairs, Professor of Developmental Biology, and Catherine R. Kennedy & Daniel L. Grossman Fellow in Human Biology at Stanford University

Nicole Ardoin

Assistant Professor of Education and Center Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

John Boothroyd

Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Gordon Brown, Jr.        

Professor, Geology, and by courtesy, of Chemical Engineering and Photon Science

Alan Cheng

Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery and, by courtesy, of Pediatrics

Justin Du Bois 

Associate Professor, Chemistry

Sally Gressens 

Assistant Dean, School of Engineering

Britt Hedman  

Professor, SLAC and Deputy Director of SSRL

Sarah Heilshorn

Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and, by courtesy, of Chemical Engineering and of Bioeng

Stefan Heller  

Associate Professor, Otolaryngology and Molecular & Cellular Physiology

Peter S. Kim

Virginia and D. K. Ludwig Professor of Biochemistry

Thomas Rando  

Professor, Neurology and Neurological Sciences

Jennifer Raymond

Associate Professor, Neurobiology

Rania Sanford

Assistant Vice Provost & Director of Programs for the Office of Faculty Diversity and Development

Jan Skotheim

Assistant Professor of Biology and, by courtesy, of Chemical and Systems Biology

Anne Villeneuve

Professor of Developmental Biology and of Genetics

Anthony Wagner

Professor, Psychology

Tom Wasow

Clarence Irving Lewis Professor in Philosophy and Professor of Linguistics, Emeritus

Sharon Greenblum (ex officio)

Postdoctoral Scholar

Co-Chair, Stanford University Postdoctoral Association

Jesse Isaacman-Beck
(ex officio)

Postdoctoral Scholar
Co-Chair, Stanford University Postdoctoral Association

Committee Staff:  Annelies Ransome, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs

Updated: March 2017

Stanford Medicine Resources:

Footer Links: